Prof Anna Verster
(1931 - 1994)


For more information

on Prof Anna Verster

click here

Dr Wilhelm Neitz
(1906 - 1979)


For more information

on Dr Wilhelm Neitz

click here

WO Neitz Memorial Scholarship



Wilhelm Neitz Memorial Scholarship in Parasitology for postgraduate study abroad


The late Prof. Anna Verster, whose entire professional career was devoted to Veterinary Parasitology, repeatedly expressed concern that financial constraints might prevent young South African parasitologists from studying abroad. Under the stipulations of her will, the Wilhelm Neitz Memorial Trust (Who was Dr Wilhelm Neitz?) was created to assist South African nationals or permanent residents for post-graduate study in parasitology (not only in the veterinary field) at institutions abroad. The following students have received the award:


2020: Not awarded

2019: Not awarded

2018: Not awarded

2017: Thomas Morris

2016: Luther van der Mescht (SU)

2015: Not awarded

2014: Not awarded

2013: Nina du Toit (SU)

2012: Not awarded

2011: Not awarded

2010: Not awarded

2009: Kerry Hadfield (UJ)

2008: Not awarded

2007: Courtney Cook (UJ) 

2006: Not awarded

2005: Maryke Coetzee (UJ)





Honours, master's, doctoral and post-doctoral study will qualify. As the amount available will not cover the total costs of study abroad, it is imperative that applicants should seek other sources of funding, e.g. NRF bursaries.



Applications should include the following:

  1. A curriculum vitae

  2. A certified academic record, including undergraduate studies

  3. Detailed outline of the field of study or research project

  4. Letter of support by employer or most recent academic supervisor

  5. Details of how the proposed study will be financed.



Applications should be addressed to:


Prof Sonja Matthee

Department of Conservation Ecology & Entomology

Stellenbosch University

Private bag X1



South Africa


Tel: +27 (0)21 808 4777





The trustees are the President of the Parasitological Society of Southern Africa (ex officio) and one of the lecturers in Parasitology at the Faculty of Veterinary Science, University of Pretoria (nominated by the Dean). The decision of the Trustees is final, and no correspondence concerning the decision will be entered into. The Trustees reserve the right not to award the Scholarship if, in their opinion, the applications do not warrant it. Payment will only be made when proof is furnished of acceptance by a tertiary education institution abroad.


The deadline for applications is 30 June 2021.
Incomplete applications will not be considered.

  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page