top of page
Prof Angela Davies Russell

For more information

on Prof Angela Davies Russell

click here

Angela Davies Russell Award



The Angela Davies Russell Award for Postgraduate Student Outputs


​This award (in honour of Prof. Angela Davies Russell) is aimed at recognising outstanding research outputs of postgraduate students in the field of parasitology in order to encourage young scientists to continue with their good work and aspire to be established and renowned researchers in their field. Thus this award targets emerging scientists in parasitology in southern Africa who publish their research in accredited peer-reviewed journals. The following students have been awarded this prestigious award:

2023:    Bernard Jordaan (NWU)

2022:    Anja Erasmus (NWU)

2021:    Marliese Truter (NWU)

2020:    José C. Dumbo (UJ)

2019:    Anneke Schoeman (NWU)

2018:    Patience Igeh (UJ)

2017:    Quinton Dos Santos (UJ)





Applications should include the following:

  1. A summarised academic CV of the postgraduate student.

  2. Copy of the published article (pdf).

  3. Proof of registration at a South African University.

  4. Nomination motivation.



  • The award is given in recognition of an outstanding published article by a postgraduate student (MSc or PhD).

  • The postgraduate student must be registered with a university in South Africa at the time of the article submission.

  • The applicant must be a PARSA member.

  • The publication must encompass any form / niche of parasitology.

  • The student should be first author on the submitted publication.

  • The article should already be published (only from January of the previous year until the deadline date).

  • Awards are based on nominations only and self-nominations are not allowed.

  • Re-nomination of candidates is encouraged, as long as the eligibility criteria are met.


Selection criteria:

Nominations will be assessed based on the following:

  •  All of the eligibility criteria being met and the research published is a contribution in the field of parasitology.

  • The quality of the research output and the nomination motivation (copy of published article and the motivation indicating contribution of outputs to advancement of parasitology must be submitted).


Applications should be sent to:


Prof. Kgomotso P. Sibeko-Matjila

Department of Veterinary Tropical Diseases

University of Pretoria

Private Bag X04



South Africa


Tel: +27 (0)12 529 8402




The deadline for applications is 30 April every year.


  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page
bottom of page